

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

May 17, 2017, 1:30 P.M. Room 419-C, State Capitol Building Oklahoma City, OK 73105

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: Doug Brown, Bruce Day, Dr. Bo Hannaford,

Johnnie Parks, and Secretary of Education Natalie

Shirley

COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT: Amy Bixler and Dr. Kent Shellenberger

OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES: Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Dr. Daniel Craig, Angie Bookout, Robert Buswell, Jennifer Gambrell, Jerry Hsieh, Renee Launey-Rodolf, Abby Murphey, Dr. Kathren

Stehno and Jeff Wallace.

VISITORS: Dr. Goldie Thompson, Oklahoma State Regents for

Higher Education; Dr. Bryan Duke, University of Central Oklahoma; Jeff Smith, Oklahoma State Department of Education; Dr. Robyn Miller, Oklahoma State Department of Education; Dr. Susan Davis- Becker, ACS Ventures; Dr. Gerard Clancy, University of Tulsa; Janet Levit, University of Tulsa; Dr. Robin Ploeger, University of Tulsa; Mike McIlwee, Oklahoma Education Association; Jake Yunker, Office of the Governor; Jonathan

Shirley, Assistant Attorney General

Call to Order: Secretary Shirley called the meeting to order at 1:30 P.M.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Secretary Shirley asked for the roll call to be taken. Five Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Dr. Daniel Craig: Dr. Daniel Craig welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Approval of Minutes from the March 8, 2017 Commission Meeting: Mr. Day made a motion to approve the minutes of the March 8, 2017 Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. Parks seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:absentDr. Hannaford:approveMr. Brown:approveDr. Shellenberger:absentMr. Parks:approveSecretary Shirley:approve

Mr. Day: approve

Discussion and action on approval of continued State accreditation for the University of Tulsa. Mr. Day made a motion to table the action of continued State accreditation for the University of Tulsa and to consider a rule change. Mr. Parks seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler: absent Dr. Hannaford: disapprove Mr. Brown: disapprove Dr. Shellenberger: absent Arr. Parks: approve Mr. Day: approve

Presentation and Discussion: Standard Setting Process: Dr. Susan Davis-Becker

Presentation and Discussion: Commissioner CAEP Standards Training: Ms. Renée Launey-Rodolf and Ms. Angie Bookout

Quality and Accountability program updates: None

New Business: None

Announcements and Informational Items: Office of Educational Quality and Accountability and Commission members thanked Mr. Johnnie Parks for his years of service to the Commission.

The meeting adjourned at 3:35 P.M.

	as submitted	with corrections
on June 23, 2017.		
Signed:		
Natalie Shirley, Chairman		Dr. Daniel Craig, Executive Director

The minutes of the May 17, 2017 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality

and Accountability were approved (circle one)